securely erase Android data

Got a new phone and would like to trade in your old phone for cash? Before of doing that, you should completely wipe Android phone / tablet before selling it. That will reduce the risk of your personal data and private info leaking.

How can I permanently erase all data from Android phone before resell?
Last month, I won a Samsung phone in a raffle, So I’m going to resell the old android phone, but the old phone kept a large amount of data, to the as photos, contacts, messages, call history, videos and so on. I want to completely wipe all data from my android phone before selling, how can I do?

Mobile phone is so important in our life that it contains almost all our important information. Like contact information, text messages, business emails, financial details, Facebook key, and even private photos and videos, and so on. Going through a quick and simple factory reset of your phone is reasonable, but it might not be enough. As factory resetting won’t wipe your personal data of your Android device permanently. Some professional Android data recovery software, such as Dr.Fone for Android can still recover photos, emails, text messages, and contact information, even you’ve performed a standard factory reset. How to completely wipe your Android phone tablet before selling? We’re discuss this topic and show you how to make sure your private data and information will not fall into wrong hand.

Before of Wiping your Android mobile phone:

Back up all your data, including contacts, photos, videos, and more other files you want. You can do this by following Backup Samsung Galaxy S4.

Start to wipe your Android device

erase Android data

Mobile Data Eraser is the ideal iOS and Android data erase utility designed to fully wipe all personal information from Android phone and tablet, as well as iPhone, iPod and iPad. It securely erase messages, log in information, Google searches, browse history, cache data, pictures, music, videos and more files from your device with 100% unrecoverable. Then you can resale, donate, or giving away your Android device regardless of whose hands it falls into.

Download | For Win Download | For Mac

How to completely wipe Android phone tablet before selling or donating

Step 1. Download and launch Android data eraser

To get started, download this data erasing application from the above download link. Then double click the archive to install and launch it on your PC/Mac.

Step 2. Enable USB debugging on your Android device

You should turn on USB debugging mode on Android phone or tablet. There are some differences between the different Android OS. To find and turn on USB debugging options, you should choose the right way enable your Android USB Debugging Mode.

  • Android 2.0-2.3.x: Settings > Applications > Development > USB Debugging.
  • Android 3.0- 4.1.x Settings > Developer Options > USB Debugging.
  • Android 4.2.x and higher: "Settings > About Phone > Build number" for several times and when you get the note: "You are under developer mode", you can go back to "Settings > Developer options > USB debugging".

How to enable USB debugging on Android?

enable USB debugging on Android

Step 3. Connect Android device with your computer

Connect your Android smartphone or tablet with the computer with a USB cable. After connecting, you will see your device information on the primary window as follows.

completely wipe Android phone tablet before selling

Step 4. Erase all data on Android phone or tablet with a click

Click the "Erase All Data" button and input "delete" into the box in the pop-up window. Now click "Erase Now" to start wiping everything on Android.

You should NOTE:
1) Close all background apps, such as Music, Navigation, etc.
2) Wait for any updates to be complete if there are any running on the device.
3) Make sure you have backed up any needed data on your phone.

erase all data on Android

The erasing process will take you some time, depending on the amount of the data on your device. Your phone content like photos and videos, music, contacts, apps information, browsing history, and more private data will be permanently erased and can NOT be undo. Please make sure you’ve backed up the data in case of any data lost.

At last, when the erasing is finished, click "Factory Data Reset" or "Erase All content" on your Android device to wipe all system settings on your Android device.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *